Brango Casino vs Spin Casino

These two are usually framed as opposites: a small, crypto-friendly casino running on one game studio against a large, long-established brand inside a listed group. On the terms that decide what a win is actually worth — the withdrawal cap, the pending period, the verification trigger, the absence of a New Zealand licence — they are closer than that framing suggests. Both even cap weekly withdrawals at around the same figure.

The differences that do matter sit elsewhere: in who operates each casino, which licence is current, and whether you can find out what the games pay before you play them.

One thing before anything else. Never reach either cashier through a link in an article, including this one. Brango’s own support channels have warned that sites copying its design on similar domains have taken deposits from its customers, and a search for the brand returns a crowd of lookalike addresses publishing figures that contradict one another. Type the address yourself, confirm it, and bookmark it once.

Comparison

FeatureBrango CasinoSpin Casino
OperatorAnden Online N.V. (Curaçao, trading since 2017)Bayton Ltd (Malta, trading since 2001)
Licence citedLegacy Curaçao master-licence number 1668/JAZMalta Gaming Authority MGA/B2C/145/2007 (live)
Part of a groupStands aloneSuper Group (JackpotCity, Ruby Fortune, Royal Vegas, Gaming Club, Lucky Nugget, Betway)
Games platformSingle studio — RealTime Gaming (SpinLogic)Games Global with Evolution live tables, roughly 700 titles
Game return (RTP) shown?No — operator-set and not disclosed in gameYes — published per game in the panel
Weekly withdrawal capAbout €4,000 (progressive jackpots usually exempt)About €4,000, aggregated across Super Group brands
New Zealand dollarsSupportedSupported
New Zealand licenceNoneNone
NZ legal actionNone knownBayton named in April 2026 High Court proceedings (contested)

How the two operators differ

Four things separate them in a way that affects a real account.

The licence, and whether it is current. Spin Casino runs under Bayton Ltd, a Maltese company that holds Malta Gaming Authority licence MGA/B2C/145/2007 — a live licence that carries ongoing supervision, segregated player funds and a formal dispute-mediation route you can check on the regulator’s own register. Brango’s published terms cite “Curacao eGaming” under 1668/JAZ. That is the legacy number of the Cyberluck Curaçao master licence, part of the master-and-sublicence model that was wound down when Curaçao’s new gaming law (the LOK) took effect at the end of 2024. The number is also not a company number, though the terms describe it as one; the company number is given separately in the same document.

None of that proves Brango is unlicensed — it may hold a current direct licence its terms page has not caught up with. It does mean the credential published to you is stale, and the dispute route named in your contract points at a system that no longer handles complaints the way it once did. Our Brango deposit and withdrawal guide covers the licensing and cashier detail in full.

The group. Spin Casino belongs to Super Group, a company listed on the New York Stock Exchange whose casino brands include JackpotCity, Ruby Fortune, Royal Vegas, Gaming Club and Lucky Nugget, alongside the Betway sportsbook. Those brands share terms, a cashier and, importantly, a withdrawal cap. Brango stands alone. If you hold accounts across several casinos, you may already be sharing one cap with Spin without realising it, because sister brands are rarely signposted as related.

Legal exposure in New Zealand. In April 2026, proceedings were filed in the High Court at Auckland against Super Group over online gambling offered to New Zealand residents, naming Bayton — the entity behind Spin Casino — alongside several related companies and the group’s chief executive personally. Parallel proceedings were filed against bet365 and SkyCity. The defendants have contested the court’s jurisdiction and nothing has been decided. There is no equivalent action involving Brango. This is a fact about the operator, not a finding of wrongdoing, and a reader choosing between the two is entitled to know it. Our Spin Casino review sets out the detail.

The library, and what you can know about it. Spin runs on the Games Global platform with a live-dealer lobby from Evolution and roughly 700 titles, each with a return figure published in the game. Brango runs on a single studio — RealTime Gaming, now trading as SpinLogic — with returns the operator configures and does not publish. That last point is the sharpest practical difference between the two, and it is worth its own section.

Game returns: a problem at one of them

RealTime Gaming, the single studio behind Brango’s library, supplies operators with configurable return settings for the same title. The settings are commonly reported as 91%, 95% as the default, and 97.5%, with a fourth value around 96.5% on some newer games. Two casinos can therefore run an identically named game, with identical graphics and identical features, at very different returns — and the version you are playing is chosen by the operator, not fixed by the game.

The cost difference is not marginal.

Game Returns

The same RealTime Gaming title can run at very different returns depending on the setting the operator selects. Wagering $1,000 costs about $25 at 97.5% and about $90 at 91% — roughly three and a half times more, on the same game, for the same play.

SettingCost of $1,000 turnoverCost of $10,000 turnover
97.5%about $25about $250
95% (default)about $50about $500
91%about $90about $900

And the setting is not published. Analysis of the studio’s software reports that the in-game paytable, instructions and help files do not disclose which setting is in use, and operators do not volunteer it. The figure can be anything from 91% to 97.5%. Ask support in writing and keep the answer. Figures are long-run averages, not predictions of any session.

The usual advice — “open the game’s information panel and read the return” — does not work at an RTG casino. Independent analysis of the studio’s software reports that the in-game paytable, instructions and help files do not disclose which setting is in use, and operators do not volunteer it. So the honest position is not “check the panel”. It is that the figure is set by the operator, is not disclosed, and could be anywhere in that range. You can ask support in writing; the answer, or the absence of one, is informative either way. Keep a copy.

Where a return figure is published in the game panel, as at Spin, that figure is the one that applies to you. Our online pokies guide explains how to read those figures and why progressive-jackpot titles sit well below the general range at any casino.

What is the same at both

On the terms that decide what a win is worth, the gap narrows to almost nothing:

  • The weekly cap. Both sit around €4,000 a week. A NZ$20,000 win is not paid in one go at either — it is released in instalments over roughly a month, with the unpaid balance sitting in the account as playable funds throughout. Progressive-jackpot wins are typically exempt from the cap at both.
  • A pending period. Both hold a withdrawal request before processing begins. Brango’s is reported at up to about an hour, which is genuinely fast, but the cap still governs the outcome of a large win.
  • A minimum withdrawal. Both set one high enough to strand a small balance. Check it before depositing a small amount.
  • Identity verification. Required before a first payout at both, and the recurring complaint pattern at both is verification triggered at the withdrawal stage rather than at sign-up.
  • New Zealand dollars. Supported at both, which saves a currency-conversion spread of a few per cent and nothing else.
  • Offshore, unlicensed here. Neither holds a New Zealand licence, so no New Zealand authority can require anything of either, and a complaint goes to a foreign regulator.

There is one difference inside that sameness. Spin’s cap aggregates across its sister brands, so holding accounts at several casinos in the Super Group family gives you one cap between them rather than one each — and, as noted, those brands are rarely signposted as related. Brango’s cap applies to Brango alone. Our fast payout casinos page explains where withdrawal delays actually originate, and why a short pending time does not change what a weekly ceiling does to a large balance.

Bonuses at each

The bonus structures differ enough to be worth stating separately, and neither is generous — they are ungenerous in different ways.

Brango runs frequent no-deposit codes with wagering anywhere from 5× to 40× depending on the code, but caps the cashout at $50 or $100 regardless of whether the free chip is advertised at $30 or $125, and requires a verification deposit before any withdrawal from a no-deposit bonus can be processed. Players have also reported bonus terms being treated as remaining in force after wagering is complete, and even after a withdrawal, until a later transaction supersedes them. Read the bonus-terms document rather than the promotion page, and keep a copy. Our Brango no-deposit bonus page sets out the current terms.

Spin runs a welcome package of up to NZ$1,000 across three deposits at 70× wagering — roughly double the sector norm of 30× to 40×. Clearing the full package requires on the order of NZ$70,000 of turnover, which most players will not complete. One casino caps what you can take out; the other sets a turnover requirement that quietly does the same job.

Where New Zealand’s rules are going

No online casino currently holds a New Zealand licence, and that is changing on a published timetable.

The Online Casino Gambling Act 2026 took effect on 1 May 2026, with the supporting regulations following on 3 July. The Department of Internal Affairs opened expressions of interest on 17 July 2026 at a fee of NZ$19,000 and closed them on 14 August. A competitive auction for the right to apply then ran from late September to 12 October 2026, concluding after ten rounds; the Department reports that eleven entities secured the right to apply, at a reported NZ$15 million per licence, out of up to fifteen licences available. Full applications follow, and the licensed system is expected to be operating during 2027. From 1 December 2026, any operator that has not entered this process must stop serving New Zealanders; operators that did apply may keep running, without advertising, until their application is decided, under a transitional exemption that runs into mid-2027. The Act carries civil penalties reported at up to NZ$5 million for serious or repeated breaches.

Super Group has publicly signalled interest in the New Zealand market. Brango’s position is not known.

This process also explains a related question. Neither casino has an app in New Zealand’s Google Play or Apple App Store, and the usual “New Zealand is blocked” explanation is wrong — New Zealand has been on Google Play’s approved country list for real-money gambling apps since 2021. The store condition that bites is a different one: the developer must also hold a valid operating licence in the country, which no offshore casino can currently supply. Installer files distributed from an operator’s own site are the only route, and that absence is a fact about the operator’s regulatory standing rather than a technical gap to route around.

The government register of licensed operators, expected during 2027, will also solve the lookalike-domain problem at the top of this page. A verified list published by the regulator is a far better defence against cloned sites than checking spellings. Our New Zealand gambling laws guide tracks the timeline as it moves.

If you hold a balance at either operator, withdraw it well before December. Both cap weekly releases, so a large balance takes weeks to clear and the deadline arrives sooner than it looks.

If you are choosing between them

The sensible checklist is largely the same for both:

  • Verify at registration. Both have complaint patterns involving verification triggered at the withdrawal stage. Doing it on day one removes that entirely, and the documents are the same either way.
  • Read the bonus terms before opting in — the wagering multiple, what it applies to, any maximum bet, any maximum cashout, and at Brango specifically how long the terms remain in force.
  • Check the weekly cap against what you are playing for. If a large win would take a month to release, that is worth knowing before rather than after.
  • At Brango, ask about the return setting in writing before you play, because it is not shown in the games.
  • Check availability first. Both operators’ New Zealand position can change ahead of the December deadline. Attempt registration and look at the cashier rather than relying on a page written weeks ago.
  • Reach the site by typing the address, not from a link in an article.

On the question the title implies — which is better — there is no meaningful winner to name on the terms that decide what a win is worth. The choice is better framed as which set of trade-offs you can live with.

Getting help

Free, confidential support is available in New Zealand at any hour: the Gambling Helpline on 0800 654 655 or by free text to 8006, and PGF Services on 0800 664 262. Both support whānau and friends as well as the person gambling.

Our self-exclusion guide covers bank gambling blocks and device-blocking software, neither of which depends on any operator. You must be 18 or older to gamble online in New Zealand.

Disclaimer

This page is published for information. It is not financial, legal or gambling advice, and nothing on it is a recommendation to gamble or an endorsement of either operator. It does not name a winner, because on the terms that matter there is no meaningful winner to name. You must be 18 or older to gamble online in New Zealand.

No link on this page goes to an operator’s cashier, and none will. Reach any casino by typing the address yourself.

References to court proceedings describe filings and allegations on the public record. Those proceedings are contested and no findings have been made; nothing here should be read as a statement that any party has broken the law. Player accounts described are individual reports, not findings. Licensing, ownership, bonus terms, withdrawal limits and country availability all change, sometimes within weeks, and this page covers a period in which the New Zealand market is being restructured. Confirm the current position on the regulator’s own register and in the operator’s own terms before you deposit. Expected-cost figures are long-run averages, not predictions of any session.

Sources

Operator documents, independent databases, software analysis, court reporting, regulator pages and support services. No link below goes to an operator’s cashier.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which casino has the current licence?

Spin Casino holds a live Malta Gaming Authority licence, MGA/B2C/145/2007, carrying ongoing supervision, segregated player funds and a dispute-mediation route you can check on the regulator’s register. Brango’s terms cite a legacy Curaçao master-licence number, 1668/JAZ, from a system that was wound down when Curaçao’s new gaming law took effect at the end of 2024. Ask Brango in writing for its current direct licence number before relying on it.

Do both casinos cap weekly withdrawals?

Yes, both at around €4,000 a week, with progressive-jackpot wins usually exempt. Spin’s cap aggregates across every casino in the Super Group family, so multiple accounts in that group share one cap between them. Brango’s applies to Brango alone. A large win therefore takes weeks to clear at either, which matters far more than the pending time does.

Can I find out what the games pay at Brango?

Not from inside the game. RealTime Gaming lets operators choose between return settings commonly reported at 91%, 95% and 97.5%, and analysis of the software reports that the setting in use is not disclosed in the paytable or help files. The honest answer is that the figure is operator-set and undisclosed; ask support in writing and keep the reply. At Spin the return is published per game in the panel.

Is either operator facing legal action in New Zealand?

Bayton, the entity behind Spin Casino, is among those named in April 2026 High Court proceedings against Super Group over online gambling offered to New Zealanders, alongside parallel cases against bet365 and SkyCity. Jurisdiction is contested and nothing has been decided. There is no equivalent action involving Brango.

Will Brango or Spin be legal in New Zealand after December 2026?

Only if they enter the new licensing process. From 1 December 2026, operators that have not applied must stop serving New Zealanders; those that applied may continue, without advertising, until their application is decided. Super Group has signalled interest in the market; Brango’s position is not known. Check the cashier and the forthcoming government register rather than relying on any article.