Brango Casino vs Spin Casino

These two are usually framed as opposites — a small crypto-first casino against a large established brand. On the terms that decide what a win is actually worth, they are closer than that framing suggests, and both cap weekly withdrawals at around the same figure.

The real differences are elsewhere: in who operates each, which licence is current, and whether you can find out what the games pay.

One thing first. Never reach either cashier through a link in an article, including this one. Brango’s own support team has warned that sites copying its design on similar domains are taking deposits from its customers, and a search for the brand returns a crowd of lookalike addresses publishing figures that contradict each other. Type the address yourself and bookmark it once confirmed.

The comparison

Why there are no casino apps in the New Zealand Play Store
The usual explanation is wrong, and the correct one tells you when it changes
Is New Zealand blocked?No. New Zealand has been on Google Play’s approved country list for real-money gambling apps since 2021.
So why is the shelf empty?Because being in an approved country is only half the requirement. The developer must also be registered as a licensed operator with the gambling authority in that country and supply a valid local operating licence. No online casino holds a New Zealand licence, so none can satisfy it.
Other conditions on approved appsFree to download, no in-app billing, age-gated to 18 or over, responsible gambling information displayed, and geo-blocking of both new sign-ups and existing accounts outside the licensed territory. A compliant app is required to stop working if you take it somewhere it is not licensed.
What this pushes operators to doDistribute installer files direct from their own websites instead. Security researchers describe betting and casino software as an entire category forced into sideloading by store policy — which means people installing it are sideloading whether they think of it that way or not.
When it changesOnce New Zealand licences are issued in 2027, a licensed operator can publish an app here legitimately — and it will then be subject to all the store conditions above.
The absence is the regulatory position, not a technical gap. An operator distributing outside the store is one that cannot meet the store’s licensing requirement — which is information about the operator rather than a problem to route around.

Four things separate them meaningfully.

The licence, and whether it is current. Spin Casino runs under Bayton Ltd, a Maltese company holding Malta Gaming Authority licence MGA/B2C/145/2007 — a live licence with ongoing supervision, segregated player funds and a dispute mediation route. Brango’s published terms cite “Curacao eGaming” under 1668/JAZ. That was the master licence number of Cyberluck Curaçao N.V., abolished along with the rest of the Curaçao master licence system on 1 January 2025. It is also not a company number, though the terms describe it as one; the company number is 138316, given separately in the same document.

That does not prove Brango is unlicensed — it may hold a current direct licence its terms page has not caught up with. It does mean the credential published to you is stale and the dispute route named in your contract points at a body that no longer handles complaints. Our Brango deposits guide covers this in full.

The group. Spin Casino belongs to Super Group, an NYSE-listed parent whose brands include JackpotCity, Ruby Fortune, Royal Vegas, Gaming Club, Lucky Nugget and Betway, sharing terms, a cashier and a withdrawal cap. Brango stands alone. If you hold accounts across several casinos you may already be sharing a cap with Spin without realising it, because sister brands are rarely signposted.

Legal exposure in New Zealand. In April 2026, proceedings were filed in the High Court at Auckland against Super Group over online gambling offered to New Zealand residents, naming Bayton — the entity operating Spin Casino — alongside several related companies and the group’s chief executive. Parallel proceedings were filed against bet365 and SkyCity. The defendants have contested jurisdiction and nothing has been decided. There is no equivalent action involving Brango. This is a fact about the operator rather than a finding of wrongdoing, and a reader choosing between the two is entitled to know it. Our Spin Casino review covers the detail.

The library, and what you can know about it. Spin runs on Games Global with a live lobby from Evolution, around 700 titles, with return figures published per game. Brango runs on a single studio with returns the operator configures and does not publish. That is the next section, and it is the sharpest practical difference between the two.

The game-return problem at one of them

The same game can pay 91% or 97.5%, and you cannot find out which
This applies to one of these two casinos and not the other
RealTime Gaming, the single studio behind Brango’s library, supplies operators with configurable return settings for the same title. Documentation reports three standard settings — 91%, 95% as the default, and 97.5% — with a fourth around 96.5% on some newer games. Two casinos can run an identically named game, with identical graphics and identical features, at very different returns.
SettingCost of $1,000 turnoverCost of $10,000 turnover
97.5%about $25about $250
95% (default)about $50about $500
91%about $90about $900
And the setting is not published
Advice to “open the game’s information panel and read the return” is the standard answer, and at an RTG casino it does not work. Analysis of the studio’s software reports that the in-game paytable, instructions and help files do not disclose which setting is in use, and that operators do not volunteer it.

So the honest position is not “check the panel”. It is that at this casino the figure is set by the operator, is not disclosed, and could be anything from 91% to 97.5% — a difference of roughly three and a half times in what the same play costs you.

You can ask support in writing. The answer, or the absence of one, is itself informative. Keep it either way.
Configurable returns are not unique to this studio — several suppliers offer operators a menu of certified versions. What is unusual here is the width of the range combined with the absence of in-game disclosure. Where a return figure is published in the game panel, as at the other casino on this page, that figure is the one that applies to you.

The cost difference is not marginal. Wagering $1,000 costs about $25 at 97.5% and about $90 at 91% — roughly three and a half times more, on the same game, for the same play. Over $10,000 of turnover that is $250 against $900.

The usual advice does not work here.

So the honest position at an RTG casino is not “check the panel”. It is that the figure is set by the operator, is not disclosed, and could be anywhere in that range. You can ask support in writing; the answer, or the absence of one, is informative either way. Keep it.

Where a return figure is published in the game panel, as at Spin, that figure is the one that applies to you. Our online pokies guide covers how to read those figures and why progressive jackpot titles sit well below the general range at any casino.

What is the same at both

What is the same at both
On the terms that decide what a win is worth, the gap is narrower than the framing suggests
The weekly capBoth sit around €4,000 a week. A NZ$20,000 win is not paid in one go at either — it is released in instalments over roughly a month, with the unpaid balance sitting in the account as playable funds throughout.
A pending periodBoth hold a withdrawal request before processing begins. Brango’s is reported at up to about an hour, which is genuinely fast; the cap still governs the outcome.
A minimum withdrawalBoth set one high enough to strand a small balance. Check it before depositing a small amount.
Identity verificationRequired before a first payout at both, and the recurring complaint pattern at both is verification triggered at the withdrawal stage rather than at sign-up.
New Zealand dollarsSupported at both, which saves a conversion spread of a few per cent and nothing else.
Offshore, unlicensed hereNeither holds a New Zealand licence, so no New Zealand authority can require anything of either, and a complaint goes to a foreign regulator.
One difference inside the sameness. Spin’s cap aggregates across its sister brands, so holding accounts at several casinos in that family gives you one cap between them rather than one each — and those brands are rarely signposted as related. Brango’s cap applies to Brango alone.

The withdrawal cap is the point here. Both sit around €4,000 a week — Brango’s applying to Brango alone, Spin’s applying where a withdrawal is five times or more your total deposits and counted across every brand in its group.

A NZ$20,000 win is not paid in one go at either. It is released in weekly instalments over roughly a month, and the balance above the cap stays in your casino account, where it remains available to bet. That is the structure, not an accident, and neither operator’s marketing leads with it.

Speed and cap are different questions. Brango’s pending period can be as short as an hour, which is genuinely fast; independent testing has also recorded payouts taking around six days. Either way the weekly ceiling governs a large win. Our fast payout casinos page explains where withdrawal delays actually originate.

A “which is better” framing implies a meaningful gap. On the terms that decide what a win is worth — the cap, the pending period, the minimum withdrawal, the verification trigger, the absence of a New Zealand licence — there mostly isn’t one.

Bonuses at each

The structures differ enough to be worth stating separately.

Brango runs frequent no-deposit codes with wagering anywhere from 5× to 40× depending on the code — but caps the cashout at $50 or $100 regardless of whether the free chip is advertised at $30 or $125, and requires a verification deposit before any withdrawal from a no-deposit bonus can be processed. Our Brango no-deposit page sets out the terms.

Spin runs a NZ$1,000 welcome package across three deposits at 70× wagering — roughly double the sector norm of 30× to 40×. Clearing the full package requires around NZ$70,000 of turnover.

Neither is generous. They are ungenerous in different ways: one caps what you can take out, the other sets a turnover requirement most people will not complete.

At Brango specifically, players have reported bonus terms being treated as remaining in force after wagering is complete and even after a withdrawal, until a later transaction supersedes them. Read the bonus terms document rather than the promotion page, and keep a copy.

Where New Zealand’s rules are going

No online casino currently holds a New Zealand licence.

The Online Casino Gambling Act 2026 came into force on 1 May 2026, with regulations following on 3 July. Expressions of interest opened on 17 July 2026 with a NZ$19,000 fee, followed by an auction and full applications, for up to fifteen licences. From 1 December 2026, operators that have not entered the process must stop serving New Zealanders, with penalties up to NZ$5 million; those that applied may continue until their application is decided or 1 July 2027.

Super Group has publicly signalled interest in the New Zealand market. Brango’s position is not known.

That register, expected in 2027, will also solve the problem at the top of this page. A verified list of licensed operators published by the government is a far better defence against cloned domains than checking spellings.

If you hold a balance at either operator, withdraw it well before December — particularly given both cap weekly releases, so a large balance takes weeks to clear and the deadline arrives sooner than it looks. Our New Zealand gambling laws guide sets out the timeline.

If you are choosing between them

Verify at registration. Both have complaint patterns involving verification triggered at the withdrawal stage. Doing it on day one removes that entirely, and the documents are the same either way.

Read the bonus terms before opting in — the wagering multiple, what it applies to, any maximum bet, any maximum cashout, and at Brango specifically how long the terms remain in force.

Check the weekly cap against what you are playing for. If a large win would take a month to release, that is worth knowing before rather than after.

At Brango, ask about the return setting in writing before you play, since it is not published in the games.

Check availability first. Both operators’ New Zealand position could change ahead of the December deadline. Attempt registration and look at the cashier rather than relying on a page written weeks ago.

Reach the site by typing the address, not from a link in an article.

Our casino deposit methods page covers payment routes from New Zealand.

Getting help

Free, confidential support is available in New Zealand at any hour: the Gambling Helpline on 0800 654 655 or free text 8006, and PGF Services on 0800 664 262. Both support whānau and friends.

Our self-exclusion guide covers bank gambling blocks and device blocking software, neither of which depends on any operator.

You must be 18 or older to gamble online in New Zealand.

Disclaimer

This page is published for information. It is not financial, legal or gambling advice, and nothing on it is a recommendation to gamble or an endorsement of either operator. It does not name a winner, because on the terms that matter there is no meaningful winner to name. You must be 18 or older to gamble online in New Zealand.

No link on this page goes to an operator’s cashier, and none will. Reach any casino by typing the address yourself.

References to court proceedings describe filings and allegations on the public record. Those proceedings are contested and no findings have been made; nothing here should be read as a statement that any party has broken the law. Player accounts described are individual reports, not findings.

Licensing, ownership, bonus terms, withdrawal limits and country availability all change, sometimes within weeks, and this page covers a period in which the New Zealand market is being restructured. Confirm the current position on the regulator’s own register and in the operator’s own terms before you deposit. Expected-cost figures are long-run averages, not predictions of any session.

Gambling costs money over time by design. Set a deposit limit before your first deposit rather than after a losing session. Free, confidential support is available in New Zealand 24 hours a day on 0800 654 655, or by free text to 8006.

Reference sources
Operator documents, independent databases, software analysis, court reporting, regulator registers and support services. No link below goes to an operator’s cashier.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which has the better licence?

Spin Casino holds a live Malta Gaming Authority licence, MGA/B2C/145/2007, carrying ongoing supervision, segregated player funds and a dispute mediation route. Brango’s terms cite a Curaçao master licence, 1668/JAZ, that expired when Curaçao abolished the master system on 1 January 2025. Ask Brango in writing for its current licence number.

Which pays out faster?

Brango’s pending period can be as short as an hour, though independent testing has recorded payouts taking around six days. Both cap weekly withdrawals at around the same figure, which matters far more for a large win than the pending time does.

Do both limit withdrawals?

Yes, both at around €4,000 per week. Spin’s limit aggregates across every casino in its group, so multiple accounts in that family share one cap. Brango’s applies to Brango alone.

Who operates them?

Brango is operated by Anden Online N.V., a Curaçao company registered as 138316, trading since 2017. Spin Casino is operated by Bayton Ltd, a Maltese company registered as C41970, trading since 2001 and owned by NYSE-listed Super Group.

Why does Brango have fewer games?

It runs on a single studio, RealTime Gaming, now trading as SpinLogic. That means a consistent style and a much narrower range than a multi-studio lobby.

Can I check what the games pay at Brango?

Not from inside the game. RealTime Gaming lets operators choose between return settings reported at 91%, 95% and 97.5%, and analysis of the software reports that the setting in use is not disclosed in the paytable or help files. Ask support in writing.

Is either operator facing legal action in New Zealand?

Bayton, the entity operating Spin Casino, is among those named in April 2026 High Court proceedings against Super Group over online gambling offered to New Zealanders. Jurisdiction is contested and nothing has been decided. There is no equivalent action involving Brango.

What do players complain about?

At both, verification triggered by a withdrawal request. At Brango specifically, players have reported bonus terms being treated as remaining in force after wagering is complete and even after a withdrawal.

Where can I get help if gambling is causing problems?

The Gambling Helpline is free and available 24 hours a day on 0800 654 655, or by free text to 8006. PGF Services offers free counselling on 0800 664 262.